top of page

Cairns Road Trip - So much room for adventure!

We decided to visit a mate over the school holidays in Cairns...so the kids were super excited for a massive road trip!! My husband was working away in Doomadgee at the time and was going to meet us up there so I was solo driver for the trip. The trip according to google maps is about 20hrs in total from home (Gold Coast).

Airlie Beach has a free lagoon by the beach for the public to swim. It is a beautiful spot and would recommend for all ages.

BREAKFAST HANGS

I decided to make the most of the stop over and took the boys to on a boat trip over to Daydream Island. The boat harbour is right in town and you can book either at a backpackers in town or at the harbour itself. Daydream Island was quite nice and the best part that we all really enjoyed was the putt putt. Seriously the best putt putt I have ever been to! Each hole has so much character and with the ocean around you it just feels like an island paradise.

It was a great day out at Daydream island and when we got back we had a play on the giant inflatable pillow at the caravan park (the moment I broke my tail bone trying to bounce the kids off).

We jumped back in the ute the next day and drove another 7hrs 30min to arrive in Cairns. If you have kids you will love the free playgrounds on the esplanade.

We stayed at the Big 4 Cairns Coconut Resort and the kids absolutely loved it! It was a bit out of town but had all the facilities needed to keep the kids busy and you won't hear that 'B' word (bored)

SWIMMING HOLES

There are some beautiful swimming spots around the Cairns region...These are the ones we explored...

One hour drive south from Cairns esplanade.

FACILITIES: Toilets, cold showers, gas BBQ’s, sheltered picnic tables, grassed areas, swimming holes, swing set

WALKS: 2 km rainforest walk to 3 lookouts over Boulder formations and waterfalls. Bitumen path with some stairs & boardwalks. Difficulty: moderate to easy.

I loved checking out the smooth boulders!

About a 25min drive from the Babinda Boulders
Josephine Falls walking track (easy)

1.2 km return

Allow about 30 mins walking time

This spot was super fun sliding down the natural rock slide. I am a bit of a woose so stoked I had the courage to give this a go!

A CRATER FORMED BY TWIN VOLCANIC EXPLOSIONS

I was awestruck at the size of this lake! It kinda feels eerie swimming in it but is extremely peaceful and relaxing. Bring some floaty toys and a picnic to this one! Click on the title for website link..

THE GREAT BARRIER REEF

Of course you can't do a Cairns trip without a boat trip out to the Barrier Reef! I personally recommend going through Reef Experience! I have used them twice as I found them to be friendly, personal and not a massive boat with hundreds of people so I felt more at ease. They supply a buffet style lunch and all your snorkel gear.

So I was super excited to go on this and not scared of the heights at all. In the meantime my husband and boys were quite apprehensive about the whole thing.

However......once the pod went out over the rainforest, I actually got a little freaked out lol and.... the boys were fine. You can probably see the fear in my eyes in the photos. Don't let this put you off though! I did enjoy it and even went back a second time on my next visit to Cairns.

HOME TIME

We decided to slow it down on the way home and stopped for two nights..

First stop Bowen....

a cute little beach town with a camping ground up the hill for some cheap accomodation.

SECOND STOP.... Airlie Beach (this time we spoiled ourselves and stayed in a unit)

Ps. if you wear thongs at a backpacker bar...look out for glass :)

Such a great holiday and my youngest is still asking to go back again!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page